OHL Announces 2010-11 All-Star Teams 5-03-2011 - WNEM TV 5

OHL Announces 2010-11 All-Star Teams 5-03-2011

Saginaw Spirit forward Josh Shalla has been named the third-team left-winger on the 2010-11 Ontario Hockey League All-Star teams, the league announced Monday.
Shalla scored a team-record 47 regular-season goals, and finished the season with 72 points.
Shalla was the lone Spirit player named to an OHL All-Star team.
The Owen Sound Attack, which recently captured the Wayne Gretzky Trophy as Western Conference Champions, are represented the most on the First All-Star Team with two players, Joey Hishon at center, and Garrett Wilson listed at left wing.
Matt Leyden Trophy winner Mark Reeds, the OHL’s Coach of the Year, is also on the first team.
Also representing the Attack as an All-Star is Jesse Blacker, named to the third team.
The Eastern Conference Champions and Bobby Orr Trophy winners the Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors lead the way with four players represented in total, including JP Anderson in goal for the Second All-Star Team, along with Marc Cantin on defense.
Majors’ captain Casey Cizikas earned a spot on the Third All-Star Team at center, as did defenseman Brett Flemming.
Head coach Dave Cameron appears behind the bench on the second team for the second straight year.
Max Kaminsky Trophy winner Ryan Ellis is the only player on any of the three All-Star teams who is a repeat winner.
He appears on the first team just as he did in 2008-09 when he last captured Defenseman of the Year honors.
Joining Ellis on the point for the first team this season is 2011 NHL Entry Draft prospect Ryan Murphy, while Top Scorer and co-recipient of the Eddie Powers Memorial Trophy Tyler Toffoli of the Ottawa 67’s is listed at right wing.
Rounding out the first team in goal is OHL Goaltender of the Year and Phoenix Coyotes first round pick Mark Visentin of the Niagara IceDogs.
Powered by Frankly
Powered by WorldNow CNN
All content © 2018, WNEM; Saginaw, MI. (A Meredith Corporation Station) . All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.