11 of 68 lower Michigan counties bovine TB free - WNEM TV 5

11 of 68 lower Michigan counties bovine TB free

ALPENA, Mich. (AP) - Michigan has declared all but 11 of the 68 counties in the Lower Peninsula free of bovine tuberculosis.

The state Department of Agriculture and Rural Development issued a map this month that declares 57 counties free of the disease. The remaining 11 are all in the northern Lower Peninsula. They are Alpena, Alcona, Antrim, Charlevoix, Cheboygan, Crawford, Emmet, Montgomery, Oscoda, Otsego and Presque Isle.

Department Director Keith Creagh tells The Argus Press of Owosso that the "hard work by beef and dairy farmers" has brought big gains since Michigan first addressed the disease 17 years ago.

Bovine TB is a contagious bacterial disease of cattle and other animals. Authorities found it among Michigan deer in 1994.

Since testing began, 52 Michigan cattle farms have been affected by bovine TB.


Map of bovine TB zones in Michigan: http://j.mp/ngs9fm

Copyright 2011 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Powered by Frankly
Powered by WorldNow CNN
All content © 2018, WNEM; Saginaw, MI. (A Meredith Corporation Station) . All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.