New members of Flint's City Council take seats for first meeting - WNEM TV 5

New members of Flint's City Council take seats for first meeting

Posted: Updated:

Four new faces took their seats on Flint's City Council Monday night. The newly elected officials joined five incumbents and sat in front of residents for the very first time.

Eric Mays, Wantwaz Davis, Monica Galloway and Vicki Van Buren join the council members re-elected. 

The first order of business was to elect a new council president at Monday's meeting. Scott Kincaid was voted in to the president's seat, narrowly defeating Mays. Kincaid served as the president on the most recent council. Bryant Nolden was elected by council members to serve as the council's vice-president.

After those seats were filled, the public had a chance to weigh in with what they'd like to see these council members do in their positions.           

"All of you, wake up. Get together with the court, with the board member sitting next to you and across from you and start coordinating your efforts and quit slamming one another," said one Flint resident who spoke during the public comment period.

Many residents emphasized the need to continue the fight against crime. Some residents told council members they want to see fewer taxes and more jobs. Overall, there were mixed views on this council, which could end up being an important council if the state reverts power back to the city.

"I'm concerned because I want to see them work together to take care of business," said Flint resident Marie Gibson.

Copyright 2013 WNEM (Meredith Corporation). All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly
Powered by WorldNow CNN
All content © 2018, WNEM; Saginaw, MI. (A Meredith Corporation Station) . All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.