Wildcats' Swim/Dive lands 19 on Pac-12 All-Academic Team - WNEM TV 5

Wildcats' Swim/Dive lands 19 on Pac-12 All-Academic Team

Posted: Updated:
© cbs 5 © cbs 5

The Arizona swimming and diving team was commended for its work in the classroom as 19 total student-athletes landed on the Pac-12 Swimming and Diving All-Academic Teams, Commissioner Larry Scott announced on Wednesday.

The Wildcats had six members named to the first team, three on the women's side and three on the men's side. Bonnie Brandon, Margo Geer and Emma Schoettmer earned first team honors on the women's side, while Kevin Cordes Dominic Ricotta and Giles Smith landed on the first team from the men's side.

Included on the second team were Taylor Schick from the women's side and Jeff Amlee, Sean Clark, Mitchell Friedemann, Michael Meyer, Sam Rowan and Brian Stevens from the men's team.

Arizona also had six members named to the honorable mention team. Izzy Diamond, Ashley Evans and Shannyn Hultin earned honorable mention honors on the women's team, while Carter Craft, Eric Solis and Andrew Sovero were named to the team on the men's side.

To be eligible for selection to the academic team, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.0 overall grade point average and be either a starter, or a significant contributor.

Earlier this season, Arizona seniors Margo Geer and Giles Smith were named Pac-12 Swimming and Diving Scholar-Athletes of the Year.

For continued coverage of Arizona Wildcat swimming and diving, visit ArizonaWildcats.com and be sure to follow the team on Twitter @ArizonaSwimming.

Copyright 2014 CBS 5 (KPHO Broadcasting Corporation). All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly
Powered by WorldNow CNN
All content © 2018, WNEM; Saginaw, MI. (A Meredith Corporation Station) . All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.