Core area for chronic wasting disease measures expanded - WNEM TV 5

Core area for chronic wasting disease measures expanded

Posted: Updated:

Officials have expanded the area in southern Michigan where hunters who kill deer are required to have them checked for chronic wasting disease, a contagious and fatal illness.

The Core Chronic Wasting Disease Area now includes 17 townships in Ingham, Clinton, Shiawassee and Eaton counties.

Additionally, the Michigan Natural Resources Commission has enlarged a territory outside the core area known as the CWD Management Zone. Hunters who take deer there are encouraged to bring them to checking stations but it's not required.

Other recent regulatory changes include a ban on feeding and baiting deer throughout the core area and management zone.

Chronic wasting disease affects members of the deer family, including elk and moose. Seven deer in Ingham and Clinton counties have tested positive since May 2015.

Copyright 2016 Associated Press. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly
Powered by WorldNow CNN
All content © 2018, WNEM; Saginaw, MI. (A Meredith Corporation Station) . All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.