Winners announced for Port Huron to Mackinac Island race - WNEM TV 5

Winners announced for Port Huron to Mackinac Island race

Posted: Updated:
Stock photo Stock photo

Organizers have determined the winners for the annual Port Huron to Mackinac Island sailboat race on Lake Huron.

More than 200 vessels started the race Saturday organized by Detroit's Bayview Yacht Club and most of the boats reached the finish line Sunday or Monday.

Winners are based on a handicapping system. The 68-foot Evolution from Sheboygan, Wisconsin, got first overall in the Cove Island Course while the 37.5-foot Freedom from Grosse Pointe Park, Michigan, was first overall in the shorter Shore Course.

The 35-foot trimaran Adagio from Bay City, Michigan, was listed as first for the Multihull Cove Island Course. The 60-foot Arete from Marine City, Michigan, was first to finish Sunday and ended up third among the multihulls.

Full results are posted online here.

Copyright 2016 Associated Press. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly
Powered by WorldNow CNN
All content © 2018, WNEM; Saginaw, MI. (A Meredith Corporation Station) . All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.