Erik Jones win Xfinity Series race - WNEM TV 5

Erik Jones win Xfinity Series race

Posted: Updated:

NEWTON, Iowa (AP) -- Erik Jones retook the lead from Ty Dillon with 16 laps to go and won the NASCAR Xfinity race Saturday night at Iowa Speedway for his third victory of the season.

Jones led a race-high 154 of 250 laps, but it took a late inside move for Jones to overcome Dillon for his first victory since at Dover in May. Dillon, seeking his first victory since Indianapolis in 2014, finished second. He's winless in 66 races.

Elliott Sadler was third, followed by Brennan Poole and Dakoda Armstrong. 

Brad Keselowski, the only Sprint Cup driver in the field, finished eighth. Keselowski will start seventh Sunday in Pocono in Pennsylvania in the Cup race. Daniel Suarez, the series leader entering the race, failed to finish because of damage to the No. 19 car.

Copyright 2016 Associated Press. All Rights Reserved. 

Powered by Frankly
Powered by WorldNow CNN
All content © 2018, WNEM; Saginaw, MI. (A Meredith Corporation Station) . All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.