Loons are Midwest League champs - WNEM TV 5

Loons are Midwest League champs

Posted: Updated:

For the first time in franchise history, the Great Lakes Loons are Midwest League champions. In the fourth and decisive game of the finals, the Loons handling their business, beating the Clinton LumberKings 9-8. 

After giving up three runs to their opponent in the top of the sixth, and falling behind 7-4, the Loons would answer back in the bottom of the frame with five runs of their own. The big inning put Great Lakes ahead 9-7 entering the seventh inning. 

Clinton would push one more run across the plate in the seventh, slicing the Loons lead to 9-8. However, Great Lakes would hold on from there. 

Three players for Great Lakes finished with two RBI, Matt Jones, Logan Landon and Saige Jenco. Karch Kowalczyk was credited with the win on the mound. Kowalczyk pitched just two-thirds of an inning, giving up one hit and striking out two. 

Copyright WNEM. All Rights Reserved. 

Powered by Frankly
Powered by WorldNow CNN
All content © 2018, WNEM; Saginaw, MI. (A Meredith Corporation Station) . All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.