Resident files recall petition against 2 Saginaw school board members


The Saginaw County Election Commission approved petition language to recall two Saginaw school board members Monday morning.

A Saginaw resident filed the petition to oust treasurer Mattie Thompson and secretary Kim Hamilton. This was the third attempt to approve the petition's language.

As WNEM-TV5 has reported, many community members were upset after Thompson, Hamilton and two other school board members voted to rescind a one-year contract extension for Saginaw Public Schools Superintendent Nathaniel McClain. The other two board members cannot be recalled because they're up for reelection this November. Now that the petition language is approved, the Saginaw resident who filed it needs to gather enough signatures to put it on the November ballot.

Copyright 2018 WNEM (Meredith Corporation). All rights reserved.


Digital Content Producer


Recommended for you