Michigan residents will soon be able to legally purchase recreational marijuana.
Legal recreational marijuana sales in the state of Michigan will begin on Dec. 1.
The Michigan Marijuana Regulatory Agency made the announcement on Wednesday, Nov. 13.
"It's just good that they've buttoned everything up and we're going to be able to move forward with that now," said Jason Defrain, general manager of Uncle Bud's Provisioning Center in Linwood.
Defrain is glad recreational marijuana sales are about to begin.
"It's going to be more beneficial to customers obviously because they will have more access to their product," Defrain said.
Medical marijuana facilities that have the recreational sales application approved can begin recreational sales on Dec. 1, according to the state.
This means all existing marijuana businesses with the proper licenses will be able to transfer up to 50 percent of their inventory, which has passed statewide testing, to sell for recreational purposes.
The state said equivalent licenses means any of the following held by a single licensee:
A marihuana grower license, of any class, issued under the Michigan Regulation and Taxation of Marihuana Act (MRTMA) and a grower license, of any class, issued under the Medical Marihuana Facilities Licensing Act (MMFLA).
A marihuana processor license issued under the MRTMA and a processor license issued under the MMFLA.
A marihuana retailer license issued under the MRTMA and a provisioning center license issued under the MMFLA.
A marihuana secure transporter license issued under the MRTMA and a secure transporter license issued under the MMFLA.
A marihuana safety compliance facility license issued under the MRTMA and a safety compliance facility license issued under the MMFLA.
Defrain said you will not be able to buy recreational marijuana at his location. However, the company is working on acquiring property to sell recreational marijuana at another location in Bay County after Dec. 1.
"There's a lot of people that still have never went and actually acquired a medical marijuana card for various reasons. So it's going to give access to those people that are 21-years of age and older to get their hands on what they want to have," Defrain said.
Beginning Dec. 1, growers will be able to transfer 50 percent of their harvest batch from their marijuana facility to their marijuana business, the state said.
In addition, processors will be able to transfer up to 50 percent of their finished product from their marijuana facility to their marijuana business, the state said.
Finally, provisioning centers will be able to transfer up to 50 percent of each product type that has been in inventory for a minimum of 30 days to their marijuana business, the state said.
All product transferred must have passed test results entered in the statewide monitoring system.
Residents must be 21-years-old or older to purchase marijuana.
"Always make sure when you're doing anything like this, you know what you're buying and you know how to buy it. Ask a friend with a med card, do some Google research. But just know what to look for so you get a good product," Defrain said.