Ananich, Shirkey

Jim Ananich (left) and Mike Shirkey (right)

Lawmakers have been chosen to lead the Republican-controlled Michigan Legislature starting next year.

Returning senators and senators-elect on Thursday elected Sen. Mike Shirkey of Clarklake to lead the Republican caucus from 2019 through 2022. Sen. Jim Ananich of Flint will continue leading Democrats.

In the House, Republican Rep. Lee Chatfield of Levering will be the next speaker, and Rep. Christine Greig of Farmington Hills will lead Democrats.

Three of the four current top legislative leaders are leaving office due to term limits.

Copyright 2018 Associated Press. All rights reserved.


Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.